Forum Header

Share |

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 30, 2014, 08:10:32 AM

Login with username, password and session length
72857 Posts in 4360 Topics by 734 Members
Latest Member: jonny077
Search: Advanced search
+ Pond Plants Forum - Koi Forum - Pond Products Forum
|-+ Forum Front Page
| |-+ Golden Nuggets of Wisdom (Moderator: Tana)
| | |-+ Koi and Turtles? Can they coexist?
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Koi and Turtles? Can they coexist?  (Read 10186 times)
sbtang
Puddle Jumper

Koi and Turtles? Can they coexist?
« on: February 23, 2007, 08:45:42 PM »

Hi there,

I am relatively new to raising koi. I currently have about five koi , about four inches long. Nothing special about these koi, i picked them up at the local petstore. I have medium size outdoor pond.

I am thinking about adding some turtles to my pond, but I wonder if Koi and turtle can coexist? Are their any species of turtles that will not attack the koi? If so, can someone make some recommendations?

Also, is this even a good idea? If this is not recommended, please let me know also.

Thanks!

Steve
The Skipper
Paul
Forum Admin
Pond Guru

3-Hour Cruise?

Re: Koi and Turtles? Can they coexist?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2007, 11:34:45 AM »

Sorry for the late reply, we were in the process of moving our pc's and getting reorganized. Most turtles do not attack koi. However a baby snapping turtle will feed on small koi. But I think you should just do some research on the type of turtle you want and make sure it only eats bugs and vegetation.

No you can't take my constitutional rights away from me, I am still using them!

"Peace, commerce, and honest friendship with all nations, entangling alliances with none." - Thomas Jefferson, March 4, 1801